Home and Private School Support
Per AZ Revised Statute 15-802, every child between the ages of six and sixteen years shall be instructed in reading, grammar, science, math and social studies. A parent (or person with legal custody) who chooses to homeschool their child, must file a *notarized* Affidavit of Intent to Homeschool within 30 days of beginning home instruction. *On-site notary service provided at no cost with valid picture I.D.* Also required is your child’s original, state issued birth certificate. COPIES OF YOUR CHILD’S BIRTH CERTIFICATE WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED. If submitting by mail, your original, state issued birth certificates will be mailed back to you.
Please drop off or mail the notarized affidavit and original, state issued birth certificate to:
Coconino County School Superintendent
Attn: Risha WanderWey
2384 North Steves Blvd
Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Within 30 days you are required to notify this office of an address change or of the termination of homeschool (or private school) instruction. Complete and submit the Homeschool Withdrawal Form to notify this office of an address change or of homeschool termination. Notification must be done within 30 days.
If you are sending your student to a private school, please complete the Private School Form To notify us of an address change or of withdrawal from a private school, please download and submit the Private School Withdrawal Form.
- Guidelines for Homeschooling and Private Schools
- Homeschooling Informational Resources
- Arizona Families for Home Education
Public School Enrollment Discrimination
If you have experienced discrimination when enrolling your child in a public or charter school, please report the instance to the federal Office of Civil Rights based in Denver, Colorado through the below link.